County Centenary Scholarships

Warwickshire ASA offers four annual awards of £300 each (while funding available).

These scholarships shall be designated as:

  • Achievement Scholarships:
    The Harry Walker Scholarship and The Ron Germany Scholarship

  • Developing Athlete Scholarships:
    The Ellen Gale Scholarship and The Eddie Blight Scholarship

Applicants must fulfil the following conditions in order to be eligible for assistance under the scheme:

  1. Achievement Scholarships are granted to support the achievement of an individual competing at the highest possible level in open competition in any swimming discipline to add further distinction and recognition to the name of the nominee, their club and the Association.
  2. Development Scholarships are granted to support individuals in any swimming discipline to train to a higher level. The award is to reflect the selection of an individual competing in any discipline in the Talent Development Programme of that discipline or to assist swimmers in training to a higher level in their discipline.  Applications shall be supported by a letter from the applicant’s coach, giving details of progress and achievements in the past year and setting out how the training opportunities would be advantageous to the applicant, together with any other relevant information. Without this letter, the application will not be considered.
  3. All applicants must:
    1. Be under the age of 18 at the closing date for application.
    2. Submit their application in advance of any expenditure and include a detailed estimate of cost.
    3. Have been a member of a Warwickshire ASA club as their fee-paying club from January in the year preceding that of the application.
    4. Have not represented any counties other than Warwickshire since January in the year preceding that of the application.
    5. Subject to high level competition or specialist training requirements. Successful applicants will be expected to make themselves available to represent the county in the year following the award and to participate in the Association’s Annual Championships.
  4. Applicants may be eligible for one scholarship grant in any single year.
  5. Applicants already receiving assistance from their governing body or any other organisations may be given a lower priority under the scheme.
  6. The Chair shall appoint, in early December each year, a panel consisting of not less than three and up to five people to consider any applications submitted by the due date, using the criteria laid down for the selection. At least one person shall be a member of the Executive – who shall act as Chair. The panel shall include at least one person with expertise in the discipline/disciplines of the applicants. The panel shall consider all applications on their merits and may at their discretion request additional information of an applicant. The names of the successful applicants will be circulated to the Executive, for their approval.
  7. Awards will only be granted to those applicants who have demonstrated they are performing or developing at the appropriate level.
  8. Presentation of Awards – The presentation of the award shall be made to the successful applicants at a session of the following Warwickshire Swimming Championships or on a date or at a venue of their choice.

For further information, and completed applications to:


Postal address supplied if required

Opening Date: 1st October each year

Closing date for applications: 31st December each year